Trouble on the Books by Essie Lang


Trouble on the Books by Essie Lang
Rating:five-stars
Trouble on the Books by Essie Lang
Series: Castle Bookshop Mystery #1
Genres: Cozy Mystery

Essie Lang’s series debut is perfect for fans of Lorna Barrett, Vicki Delany, and book lovers everywhere.

Rookie bookstore owner Shelby Cox must hit the books to learn the ropes before she loses a killer in the stacks.

Shelby Cox never intended to become a bookseller, so when the former editor returns to her hometown of Alexandria Bay, nestled in upstate New York’s breathtaking Thousand Islands region, to take over her aunt’s bookstore, she has no idea what to expect. To her amazement, she discovers that she now owns a fifty-percent share in Bayside Books, and will also run the store’s second location in the majestic castle on nearby Blye Island.

But just as Shelby is gearing up for the start of the tourist season, the Castle volunteer coordinator is found murdered in the nearby Grotto. Castle caretaker Matthew Kessler is suspect number one, but Shelby thinks the killing may be connected to an earlier era, when violence among Prohibition-era smugglers was rampant in the region. As Shelby launches her own investigation, handsome and unnerving Special Agent Zack Griffin of the Coast Guard Investigative Services tries to quell her smuggling theory and keep her safe. But Shelby is determined to summon all her savvy as a book editor to plot the murder—and find the killer before he strikes again—in Trouble on the Books, Essie Lang’s clever and captivating series debut.

Buy the Book


Amazon

Add to Goodreads


Goodreads

Also in this series: A Deadly Chapter

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.



Cozy mystery at its best. I wasn’t sure what to expect but loved this from beginning to end.

REVIEW

I loved this book so much. Shelby’s aunt has surgery and Shelby discovers that owns half of the bookshop. Shelby is managing the Blye Island location and going back and forth across the river from the castle to her houseboat. Everything is pretty normal until the Castle Volunteer Coordinator is murdered. Everything points to the caretaker but Shelby isn’t so sure. This leads her to her own investigation.

Let me say that the locations this book are stellar. They were so well though out and not just your standard book store. Who wouldn’t want a book store inside a castle. It is one of those things that is on every book lover’s bucket list. If not it should be. This was a wonderful book and as I said I enjoyed. I can’t wait to see what else is in store

Similar Posts

18 Comments

    1. It was a fun read and refreshing for someone who reads a ton of romance.I love throwing a cozy mystery or two for a change of pace.

  1. I’m glad that you mix it up by throwing in some cozy mysteries! Thank you for that. 🙂
    This looks like a really good one. And a brief note on the cozy genre: I love that cats are such a prominent part of it! ❤️

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *