Review

The Borrow a Bookshop Holiday by Kiley Dunbar | Book Review


The Borrow a Bookshop Holiday by Kiley Dunbar | Book Review
Rating:five-stars
The Borrow a Bookshop Holiday by Kiley Dunbar
Genres: Romantic Comedy

The Borrow-a-Bookshop Bookshop Café invites literature lovers to run their very own bookshop … for a fortnight.

Spend your days talking books with customers in your own charming bookshop and serving up delicious cream teas in the cosy café.

Bookworms, what are you waiting for? Your holiday is going to be LIT(erary).

Apply to: The Borrow-a-Bookshop Bookshop Café, Down-a-long, Clove Lore, Devon.

Jude Crawley should be on top of the world. She’s just graduated as a mature student, so can finally go public about her relationship with Philosophy professor, Mack.

Until she sees Mack kissing another girl, and her dreams crumble. And worse, their dream holiday – running a tiny bookshop in the harbour village of Clove Lore for two weeks – is non-refundable.

Throwing caution to the winds, Jude heads down to Devon, eager to immerse herself in literature and heal her broken heart.

But there’s one problem – six foot tall, brooding (but gorgeous) Elliot, who’s also reserved the bookshop holiday for two weeks…

As Jude and Elliot put their differences aside to run the bookshop, it seems that Jude might be falling in love with more than just words. Until she discovers what Elliot is running from – and why he’s hiding out in Clove Lore.

Can Jude find her own happy ending in a tiny, tumbledown bookshop? Or is she about to find out that her bookish holiday might have an unexpected twist in the tale…

The perfect cosy, romantic read for any bookworm! Fans of Jenny Colgan, Cressida McLaughlin and Philippa Ashley will love this feel good romcom

Buy the Book


Amazon

Add to Goodreads


Goodreads

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.


My Review

As a book lover this would so be right up my alley! I mean to run a bookstore and café for a fortnight! I mean is this a thing and where can I sign up? With the beauty of the Devon coast as a backdrop what could possibly go wrong in this book?

For Jude this is just the thing she needs after spending years taking care of her grandmother life has suddenly turns on it’s head. Her grandmother has decided she doesn’t need Jude to care for her anymore, Jude’s parents are selling their bakery and poor Jude is left feeling like life has passed her by.

I will say as a woman who didn’t find her purpose until later than most of her friends I could really connect with Jude. Jude is ready to take her two weeks at the bookstore and figure out her future, that is until she discovers she is sharing her time there was a rather hunky stranger, Elliot.

If anyone need an Elliot in their life it is Jude! I loved them both and honestly enjoyed this book. It was refreshing and a wonderful change from what I normally read.

About Kiley Dunbar

Kiley Dunbar is the author of heart-warming, escapist, romantic fiction set in beautiful places.

JOAN HESSAYON AWARD FOR DEBUT NOVELISTS FINALIST 2019 FOR ONE SUMMER’S NIGHT.

Kiley is Scottish and lives in England with her partner, two kids and Amos the Bedlington Terrier. She writes around her work at a University in the North of England where she lectures in English literature and creative writing. She is proud to be a member of the Romantic Novelists’ Association and a graduate of their New Writers’ Scheme.

8 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *