Review

Death at Beacon Cottage by Betty Rowlands


Death at Beacon Cottage by Betty Rowlands
Rating:five-stars
Death at Beacon Cottage by Betty Rowlands
Series: Sukey Reynolds Mystery #3
Genres: Cozy Mystery

The sun breaks through the clouds to shine on a little cottage where a mossy path leads to the front door, but inside something terrible has happened…

Police photographer Sukey Reynolds is looking forward to a quiet weekend gardening at home, when she gets a call that there has been a shocking break-in at a local manor house. Once she begins to gather evidence, Sukey realises that this is the latest in a spate of well-crafted burglaries in the Cotswolds. Someone is targeting expensive houses with valuable art collections…

Thankfully, the police soon have a suspect in custody. But, during questioning, he suddenly catches a glimpse of Sukey, turns deathly pale and calls out to her. Sukey is sure she has never met this man before… Is this a bizarre joke, or is there a stranger out there who is Sukey’s perfect double in every way?

Just as Sukey begins to suspect she’s being followed, the police are baffled by a spate of local murders. With the body count rising, and the police unsure of where to turn, is Sukey herself a clue in this strange case? Can she unmask the killer before she becomes the next victim?

An unputdownable murder mystery for fans of Agatha Christie, Joy Ellis and Faith Martin from the bestselling queen of cozy crime.

This book was previously published as Copycat.

Buy the Book


Amazon

Add to Goodreads


Goodreads

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.


My Review

This is the first book of this series that I read and I have to say that I have enjoyed. So much so I am going to go back and read the others as well as the ones that follow. Sukey Reynolds (love the name) always wanted to be a detective. However, she got married and had her son. Now she works as a Crime Scene Photographer. It’s not the same as being a detective but i’s not bad. When she’s called to the scene of a recent burglary, she ends up caught in the investigation of a series of art thefts that led to murder. The case gets personal when one of the suspects thinks he knows who she is.

I really enjoyed Sukey. She is a great mother to her son Fergus (Gus) who I also loved as a character. She also is smart and is involved crime investigations through not only her job but her boyfriend. She is in danger sometimes but she doesn’t do anything crazy or stupid like many of the other female detectives I have read.

About Betty Rowlands

Betty Rowlands is an member of the Crime Writers’ Association and appears on panels at writers’ conferences.

11 Comments

Leave a Reply to NANCY Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *