Review

Booked for Death by Victoria Gilbert


Booked for Death by Victoria Gilbert
Rating:five-stars
Booked for Death by Victoria Gilbert
Series: Booklovers B&B Mysteries #1
Genres: Cozy Mystery

From the critically acclaimed author of SIBA Okra Pick A Murder for the Books, Victoria Gilbert embarks with a new series for perfect for fans of Kate Carlisle and Juliet Blackwell.

A book lover's B&B in an idyllic waterfront village becomes the scene of a grisly murder--and a ruthless battle between treachery and the truth.

Nestled in the historic waterfront town of Beaufort, North Carolina, Chapters Bed-and-Breakfast is a reader's paradise. Built in 1770, the newly renovated inn hosts a roster of special events celebrating books, genres, and authors. It's the perfect literary retreat--until a rare book dealer turns up dead in the carriage house during a celebration of Golden Age mystery author Josephine Tey.

The victim's daughter points the finger at forty-two-year-old widow and former schoolteacher Charlotte Reed, who inherited the B&B from her great-aunt Isabella. Charlotte is shocked to discover that the book dealer suspected Isabella of being a thief who founded Chapters on her ill-gotten gains. Charlotte has successfully learned the B&B business in a year, but nothing has prepared her to handle a death on the premises.

Armed with intelligence and courage and assisted by her vibrant older neighbor, a visiting author, and members of a local book club, Charlotte is determined to prove her innocence and to clear her great-aunt's name. But the murderer is still at large, and equally determined to silence anyone who might discover the truth behind the book dealer's death. Now, Charlotte must outwit an unknown killer--or end up writing her own final chapter.

Buy the Book


Amazon

Add to Goodreads


Goodreads

Other Books in This Series


Reserved for Murder


Also from this Author


Reserved for Murder

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.


MY REVIEW OCT 2021

This is the first book from this author for me and I must tell you that I enjoyed it so much! Charlotte inherited an 18th century B&B from her Great Aunt Isabella. I love the name of the B&B too! It’s called Chapters, I mean what is not to love about that? In addition to being a place to stay the B&B also hosts book events. The name makes sense now, right? After inheriting Charlotte decides to leave her job as an English and run the B&B.

Everything seems to be going great. She is knee deep in her first event for a mystery writer. That is until someone is stabbed to death during a period costume dinner. Now, they are involved in a police investigation and Charlotte along with her neighbor Ellen decide to figure things out on their own.

The characters were all so great in this one! I fell in love with them right away. If you are a cozy mystery fan this is the book for you. I will certainly be watching for more in this series.

About Victoria Gilbert

Victoria Gilbert, raised in the shadow of the Blue Ridge Mountain, turned her early obsession with reading into a dual career as an author and librarian.
She holds a B.A. in Theatre, a M.A. in Library Science, a second M.A. in Liberal Studies, and is a member of Sisters in Crime, International Thriller Writers, and Mystery Writers of America.
When not writing or reading, she likes to spend her time watching films, gardening, or traveling. She lives in North Carolina with her husband and some very spoiled cats.
Victoria is represented by Frances Black of Literary Counsel, NY, NY.

Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links, especially Amazon. This means I may earn a commission should you chose to purchase a book or product using my link.

13 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *