Review

Booked for Death by Victoria Gilbert

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.


Booked for Death by Victoria Gilbert
Booked for Death by Victoria Gilbert
Series: Booklovers B&B Mysteries #1
Genres: Cozy Mystery

From the critically acclaimed author of SIBA Okra Pick A Murder for the Books, Victoria Gilbert embarks with a new series for perfect for fans of Kate Carlisle and Juliet Blackwell.

A book lover's B&B in an idyllic waterfront village becomes the scene of a grisly murder--and a ruthless battle between treachery and the truth.

Nestled in the historic waterfront town of Beaufort, North Carolina, Chapters Bed-and-Breakfast is a reader's paradise. Built in 1770, the newly renovated inn hosts a roster of special events celebrating books, genres, and authors. It's the perfect literary retreat--until a rare book dealer turns up dead in the carriage house during a celebration of Golden Age mystery author Josephine Tey.

The victim's daughter points the finger at forty-two-year-old widow and former schoolteacher Charlotte Reed, who inherited the B&B from her great-aunt Isabella. Charlotte is shocked to discover that the book dealer suspected Isabella of being a thief who founded Chapters on her ill-gotten gains. Charlotte has successfully learned the B&B business in a year, but nothing has prepared her to handle a death on the premises.

Armed with intelligence and courage and assisted by her vibrant older neighbor, a visiting author, and members of a local book club, Charlotte is determined to prove her innocence and to clear her great-aunt's name. But the murderer is still at large, and equally determined to silence anyone who might discover the truth behind the book dealer's death. Now, Charlotte must outwit an unknown killer--or end up writing her own final chapter.

BUY AT: Amazon


Goodreads

MY REVIEW

This is the first book from this author for me and I must tell you that I enjoyed it so much! Charlotte inherited an 18th century B&B from her Great Aunt Isabella. I love the name of the B&B too! It’s called Chapters, I mean what is not to love about that? In addition to being a place to stay the B&B also hosts book events. The name makes sense now, right? After inheriting Charlotte decides to leave her job as an English and run the B&B.

Everything seems to be going great. She is knee deep in her first event for a mystery writer. That is until someone is stabbed to death during a period costume dinner. Now, they are involved in a police investigation and Charlotte along with her neighbor Ellen decide to figure things out on their own.

The characters were all so great in this one! I fell in love with them right away. If you are a cozy mystery fan this is the book for you. I will certainly be watching for more in this series.

About Victoria Gilbert

Victoria Gilbert, raised in the shadow of the Blue Ridge Mountain, turned her early obsession with reading into a dual career as an author and librarian.
She holds a B.A. in Theatre, a M.A. in Library Science, a second M.A. in Liberal Studies, and is a member of Sisters in Crime, International Thriller Writers, and Mystery Writers of America.
When not writing or reading, she likes to spend her time watching films, gardening, or traveling. She lives in North Carolina with her husband and some very spoiled cats.
Victoria is represented by Frances Black of Literary Counsel, NY, NY.

You Might Also Like

11 Comments

  1. bn100

    June 8, 2020 at 9:34 pm

    cool you liked it

  2. Mya Murphy

    June 9, 2020 at 2:55 am

    This is my favorite genre, and this sounds like a super great read!!

  3. Lizzie Myers

    June 12, 2020 at 12:32 am

    This book sounds great! Added to my TBR!

  4. Dorothy Boucher

    June 16, 2020 at 9:40 pm

    I believe I have this book, just havn’t gotten around to reading it yet!. I’ll have to check my collection on this one , either way’ sounds like a wonderful book to read.
    @tisonlyme143

  5. Victoria Alexander

    June 20, 2020 at 10:49 pm

    Great review, thanks for sharing!

  6. Kelly Kimmell

    June 21, 2020 at 8:29 am

    I have heard about this book, sounds like a really good one.

  7. Marisela Zuniga

    June 22, 2020 at 4:20 pm

    This sounds really good!

  8. heather

    June 22, 2020 at 8:55 pm

    This sounds like a great read for me this summer and one I would enjoy. I also really like the cover of this one.

  9. Melinda Mattox

    June 23, 2020 at 11:54 pm

    I’m a fan of Juliet Blackwell, so I’m definitely intrigued to find out more about Booked for Death now.

  10. Calvin

    June 30, 2020 at 8:44 pm

    Sounds like a rather fun read, good light book for the summer.

  11. lisa king

    July 23, 2020 at 10:21 pm

    sounds like a fun summertime read for the evenings

Leave a Reply