Review

A Study in Murder by Callie Hutton

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.


A Study in Murder by Callie Hutton
A Study in Murder A Victorian Book Club Mystery by Callie Hutton
Series: A Victorian Book Club Mystery #1
Genres: Cozy Mystery

A mystery author is charged with murder--and the plot thickens faster than anyone can turn the pages--in USA Today bestselling author Callie Hutton's new series debut, perfect for fans of Rhys Bowen and Ellery Adams.

Bath, England, 1890. Mystery author Lady Amy Lovell receives an anonymous letter containing shocking news: her fiancé, Mr. Ronald St. Vincent, has been dabbling in something illegal, which causes her to promptly break their engagement.

Two evenings later, as Lady Lovell awaits a visit from Lord William Wethington, fellow member of the Bath Mystery Book Club, her former fiancé makes an unexpected and most unwelcome appearance at her house. She promptly sends him to the library to cool his heels but later discovers the room seemingly empty--until she stumbles upon a dead Mr. St. Vincent with a knife in his chest.

Lord Wethington arrives to find Lady Amy screaming and sends for the police, but the Bobbies immediately assume that she is the killer. Desperate to clear her name, Lady Amy and Lord Wethington launch their own investigation--and stir up a hornet's nest of suspects, from the gardener who served time in prison for murder to a vengeful woman who was spurned by St. Vincent before he proposed to Lady Amy.

Can they close the book on the case before the real killer gets away with murder?

BUY AT: Amazon


Goodreads

MY REVIEW

This one is set in 1890 and is the first book in the A Victorian Book Club Mystery series by Callie Hutton. I am new to the author but thrilled I took a chance since this was such an enjoyable read.

Lady Amy Lovell is mystery novel author who has to write under a pseudonym because her father disapproves of her writing. Remember this is set in 1890 when women just didn’t do this sort of thing. If that wasn’t exciting enough she is also prime suspect in the murder of her ex-fiancé. The police didn’t even bother to look at anyone else. when the police aren’t looking at any suspect but you then you get pretty motivated to figure out who the real murder is.

Who better to figure that out than a mystery writer. Along with fellow book club member, Lord William Wethington they begin making a suspect list. I will say that the longer the list got the more intrigued I became. The police were fools at best and I honestly would worry if I lived here.

the book does end on a bit of a cliffhanger which is why I took off a half star. While I will certainly read the next book to find out what happens, I hate cliffhangers!

About Callie Hutton

Callie Hutton, USA Today bestselling author of The Elusive Wife, writes both Western Historical and Regency romance, with “historic elements and sensory details” (The Romance Reviews). She has also recently delved into the word of the cozy mystery with her upcoming release (May 2020) of A Study in Murder from Crooked Lane Publishing.

She lives in Oklahoma with several rescue dogs and her top cheerleader husband of many years. Her family also includes her daughter, son, daughter-in-law and twin grandsons affectionately known as “The Twinadoes.”

Callie loves to hear from readers. Contact her directly at calliehutton11@gmail.com or find her online at www.calliehutton.com. Sign up for her newsletter to receive information on new releases, appearances, contests and exclusive subscriber content.

You Might Also Like

11 Comments

  1. bn100

    June 9, 2020 at 6:56 pm

    interesting time period

  2. Dorothy Boucher

    June 16, 2020 at 9:38 pm

    This book sounds more up my alley! I love the early years, to me they just have that bit of excitement and mystery to them.
    @tisonlyme143

  3. Victoria Alexander

    June 19, 2020 at 8:36 pm

    Sounds like an interesting book!

  4. Kelly Kimmell

    June 20, 2020 at 12:05 pm

    Nice review, thanks for sharing your thoughts on the book. Sounds interesting.

  5. Marisela Zuniga

    June 21, 2020 at 5:06 am

    This sounds interesting

  6. heather

    June 21, 2020 at 7:19 pm

    This sounds like a good book and I really like the cover too.

  7. Melinda Mattox

    June 22, 2020 at 5:41 pm

    This looks like such a unique premise for cozy mystery! I love to read historical fiction!

  8. Barrie

    June 26, 2020 at 1:27 am

    You don’t hear of many mysteries set back in the 1800s! Interesting that the book ends on a cliffhanger but sounds really good!

  9. Kayleen Considine

    June 28, 2020 at 7:38 pm

    This sounds really interesting. I love mystery books.

  10. Calvin

    July 3, 2020 at 9:04 pm

    Love the vibe to this one, good to read on a cozy night in.

  11. Jenn

    September 24, 2020 at 8:36 pm

    This book sounds like it would transport me right away! I love that.

Leave a Reply