Review

A Deadly Chapter by Essie Lang


A Deadly Chapter by Essie Lang
Rating:five-stars
A Deadly Chapter by Essie Lang
Series: Castle Bookshop Mystery #3
Genres: Cozy Mystery

Thousand Islands bookseller Shelby Cox is caught between a lethal rock and a hardheaded newcomer in Essie Lang's third Castle Bookshop mystery, a must-read for fans of Lorna Barrett and Vicki Delany.

Wake up on a houseboat, moored in scenic Alexandria Bay, New York. Ride the gentle waves to work at quaint Bayside Books, where you spend your days supplying literature and conversation to the charming locals and seasonal tourists. Sounds pleasant, doesn't it? Except bookseller Shelby Cox has already sleuthed two murders from Bayside Books's home base on Blye Island, one of New York State's famed Thousand Islands. And this time, mayhem knocks right on Shelby's waterside door when she finds a body lodged between the side of her houseboat and the dock, his skull shattered.

The victim is no local, but Shelby can't shake the feeling she's seen him before. Twice, in fact--that's how many times he's dropped into Bayside Books asking about an enigmatic woman who lived on Blye Island many years before. The last time? The day before he was found. But the poor man obviously was killed elsewhere, so who brought him down to the bay, and why?

When the victim's daughter hits town demanding answers, Shelby takes the case, despite Police Chief Tekla Stone's usual reservations. But she uncovers more suspects than there are pages in War and Peace, and Shelby can expect no peace--except the peace of the grave--unless she can turn the page on this grisly mystery.

Buy the Book


Amazon

Add to Goodreads


Goodreads

Also in this series: Trouble on the Books

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.


My Review

Shelby Cox is back and boy is she on an emotional rollercoaster this time! Shelby has now been living in Alexandra Bay for a year and she is still helping her aunt run the two two “Bayside Books” bookstores they own together. She is also still live on her houseboat where a body is found bumping against it. Okay, I have to say this, if I was living in a houseboat and body ( a murder victim at that) is bumping against it I would move that minute! I’m just saying, that would freak me out a bit.

Shelby begins to investigate with the victim’s daughter much to the dismay of the police chief. She does make a few mistakes that could have ended up deadly but Shelby persists. I swear I kept waiting for the police chief to start getting that eye tick that the chief had with Inspector Clouseau had (if you’ve seen those movies you know what I’m talking about.) Shelby as always is such a joy to read and take a journey to figure out what happened with.

This is the third book of the series and can easily be read on its own. I recommend going back and reading the first two because this is such a wonderful series adn the characters are so much fun.

20 Comments

Leave a Reply to Kelly Kimmell Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *